Ironman Triathlon in Clermont, Florida

What a great Saturday when a couchsurfer named AlabamaJoe and his friend Mindy came to spend the night before the ironman race in town. I used them to pick enough grapefruit for a month and then watched them prepare for a grueling triathlon. They had to sort transition and special needs bags for a 2.4 mile swim followed by a 110 mile bike race including one loop over Sugarloaf Mountain. I posted the pictures of the first two legs of the race, but I tuckered out before the final 25 mile run. Joe and I can be found on couchsurfers.org. It is a online meeting place to search for friends and couches to spend a night or two while traveling. Sort of like having hundreds of mini hostels available just about anywhere you might want to go.
I enjoyed myself jumping from one turn to another in the bike race to take photos. I do have to apologize to Mindy. I thought she was still ahead of Joe several times and did not stay to get her picture. I have a couple of AVI videos that silverlight won’t upload. I can embed them after I upload them to youTube, but that may take a few days.
The race is held in May and October each year. The course is very rural with spectacular sights along the way.
About zitiboat

Keepin' the faith through permaculture and sustainability
This entry was posted in Entertainment. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

